University of Charleston

University of Charleston

campus from the river during fall


Learn more about the leadership team at UC

Meet President Marty Roth

Dr. Martin S. Roth became President of the University of Charleston in July 2018. As a higher education leader, Roth has spent the past 30 years helping universities excel by focusing on the talent acquisition and development needs of students and organizations.

Kim SpiezioDr. Kim Spiezio

Executive Vice President and Provost


cleta harless

Cleta M. Harless

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer


Dr. Beth Wolfe

Executive Vice President of Enrollment Management


Photo of Woman

Gail Carter

Vice President of University Development


Dr. Bren Stevens

Vice President and Director of Athletics


Virginia Moore

Vice President, Dean of Students & Title IX Compliance Coordinator


Ella Curry

Vice President of Communications and Marketing

Mindy Smith-Amburgey

Dr. Mindy Smith

Dean, Bert Bradford School of Health Sciences



Tracy Bradley

Dr. Tracy Bradley

Dean, School of Arts and Sciences


Kristy Lucas

Dr. Kristy Lucas

Dean, UC School of Pharmacy


The Board of Trustees is the governing body of UC, responsible for the educational mission and fiscal policies for the University.

  • Patrick C. Graney III, Board Chairman, President and Founder, PCG, Inc.
  • John Barrett, Attorney, Bailey & Glasser, LLP
  • Ben Beakes, Founder and Managing Member, Three Point Strategies, LLC
  • Nancy Bruns, CEO, JQ Dickinson Salt-Works
  • Greg Burton, Board member of both City Holding and JF Allen Company
  • Michael Cary, Attorney, The Cary Law Office
  • Magie Cook, President & CEO, Magie Cook LLC
  • Dean Cordle, President and CEO, AC & S Inc.
  • Kim Dickerson, Managing Director, Protiviti
  • Jennie Ferretti, Board Secretary, Attorney, George & Lorensen, PLLC
  • David W. Gallagher, Retired Business Executive
  • Eric Hicks, CEO, Right at Home
  • Marion Jones, CRNA, Clinical Faculty, CAMC
  • Bernie Layne, Attorney, Mani Ellis & Layne
  • Phil Morabito, CEO, Pierpont Communications
  • Patrick O’Malley, Regional President, Truist
  • Lisa Pack, Retired CPA
  • Josh Pray, Project Manager, PrayWorks
  • Dave Ramsey, CEO, CAMC Health System
  • Martin S. Roth, Ph.D., President, University of Charleston, ex officio
  • Beth Walker, Justice, WV Supreme Court of Appeals
  • Steve Wehrle, Retired Business Owner
  • Paul White, Executive Vice President, Assured Partners WV