University of Charleston

University of Charleston

Four high school seniors have been selected to receive the University of Charleston’s Presidential Scholarship—the highest-level scholarship the University offers. The scholarship covers full tuition, fees, housing, and meals for four years up to $45,980 per year, for a total value of $183,920.

The students include two from West Virginia and two international students – one each from Brazil and Canada.

“We are proud to offer these outstanding students the opportunity to pursue their dreams,” stated UC President Marty Roth. “We congratulate them on their achievements so far and know that they will accomplish great things. We are looking forward to welcoming them to the Golden Eagle family.”

The students who will receive the Presidential Scholarship are:

Gavin Bias, Scott High School, Danville, WV, Business Major

Ana Clara Chaguri, Colegio Uirapuru (high school), Sorocaba, Brazil, Biology Major

Grace Gatts, John Marshall High School, Moundsville, WV, Management Major

Ella Zucchero, Acton District School, Acton, Ontario, Canada, Exercise Science Major

In addition, the university has awarded Presidential Scholar Finalist scholarship packages to four West Virginia high school seniors. These packages total $25,000 annually and have a four-year value of $100,000.

Connor McKown, Wirt County High School, Le Roy, WV, Nursing Major

Alison Morgan, Hundred High School, Wileyville, WV, Biology Major

Libby Stricklen, Roane County High School, Walton, WV, Accounting Major

Montanna Vannoy, Herbert Hoover High School, Charleston, WV, Psychology Major

“The Presidential Scholarship truly recognizes high achievers,” explained Dr. Elizabeth Wolfe, executive vice president of enrollment management at UC. “In addition to being scholars with strong records of academic success, they have also demonstrated impressive accomplishments in their pursuits beyond the classroom. Throughout a demanding interview process involving multiple rounds of review, these scholars have impressed our campus community, including President Roth, during their personal interviews with him. The winners of these scholarships should be very proud – it is quite an achievement.”

Awards will be presented to the students at their high school scholarship awards ceremonies.

Pictured: Back row, left to right: Alison Morgan, Gavin Bias, Connor McKown, Grace Gatts. Front row, left to right: UC President Marty Roth, Montanna Vannoy, Ella Zucchero, Libby Stricklen, and Beth Wolfe, Executive Vice President of Enrollment Management. Not pictured: Ana Clara Chaguri