University of Charleston

University of Charleston

Four high school seniors have been selected to receive the University of Charleston’s Presidential Scholarship – the highest-level scholarship the University offers – covering full tuition, fees, housing, and meals for four years, with a total value of $172,000.

“The Presidential Scholarship truly recognizes high achievers,” explained Dr. Elizabeth Wolfe, executive vice president of enrollment management at UC. “In addition to being scholars with strong records of academic success, they have also demonstrated impressive accomplishments in their pursuits beyond the classroom. Throughout a demanding interview process involving multiple rounds of review, these scholars have impressed our campus community, including President Roth during their personal interviews with him. The winners of this scholarship should be very proud – it is quite an achievement.”

The students who will receive the Presidential Scholarship are:

Denys Pavlov from Winfield High School, majoring in accounting

Madelyn Rickard from Pine-Richland High School, majoring in radiologic science

Jayden Sharps from Scott High School, undeclared major

Valerie Smith from Webster County High School, majoring in nursing

In addition, the University will award scholarship packages of between $20,000 – $25,000 per year (the lower amount is for the students choosing to commute, rather than live on campus), with a total value of up to $100,000 over four years to the following Presidential Scholar Finalists:

Chance Bragg from Sissonville High School, majoring in nursing

Abagail Thaxton from George Washington High School, majoring in nursing

Chloe Treadway from Sherman High School, majoring in nursing


“We are proud to offer these outstanding students the opportunity to pursue their dreams,” stated UC President Marty Roth. “We congratulate them on their achievements so far and know that they will accomplish great things. We are looking forward to welcoming them to the Golden Eagle family.”


Back row:  Dr. Elizabeth Wolfe,  Jayden Sharps (Presidential Scholar, Scott High School), Denys Pavlov (Presidential Scholar, Winfield High School), Chance Bragg (Finalist, Sissonville High School), UC President Marty Roth

Front Row: Madelyn Rickard (Presidential Scholar, Pine-Richland High School), Chloe Treadway (Finalist, Sherman High School), Abagail Thaxton (Finalist, George Washington High School), Valerie Smith (Presidential Scholar, Webster County High School)