short banner

UC School of Pharmacy Alumnus Named Ohio-Marshall Pharmacist of the Year

Release Date:  Friday, May 09, 2014

Charleston, WV  – Dr. Matthew Rafa was named pharmacist of the year by the Ohio-Marshall County Pharmacy Association at the organization’s 40th annual seminar.

Rafa, a native of Wheeling, WV, was a member of the inaugural class at the University of Charleston School of Pharmacy in 2010.   He is a pharmacy manager for Kroger and has assisted three Kroger pharmacies in receiving the top medication therapy management pharmacy (MTM) award from Outcomes MTM.  He is an advocate for immunization and MTM coverage by all insurance companies.   In 2012 Rafa received the West Virginia Society of Health Systems Pharmacy Young Pharmacist of the Year award.  

The Ohio-Marshall County Pharmacy Association pharmacist of the year award recognizes outstanding achievements in pharmacy and the promotion of the profession of pharmacy.  The recipient is honored for their efforts to elevate the bar of excellence for the pharmacy profession.

The University of Charleston School of Pharmacy enrolled its first students in 2006, and received full accreditation when the first class graduated in May 2010. Each year, the school educates over 300 student pharmacists in its technology-filled building. The program is known for the close cooperation between students and faculty, an emphasis on professionalism and advocacy, and PharmUC, an on-campus provider of medication therapy management and chronic disease education services for patients. 


Office of Communications

Dave Traube
Director of Communications

UC Information

Dr. Edwin H. Welch biography 

Dr. Edwin H. Welch photo 

UC Backgrounder 

UC Campus photo 

UC Logo 

UC Location

UC Campus Map 

UC on Mapquest